Peer-Reviewed Excellence

MCDB’s Joel Rothman among six UCSB professors elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

January 31, 2022

Six UC Santa Barbara researchers have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for 2021. Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

The new fellows are: Leon Balents, the Pat and Joe Yzurdiaga Chair in Theoretical Physics in the Kavli Institute of Theoretical Physics; John E. Bowers, the Fred Kavli Distinguished Professor of Materials, Electrical & Computer Engineering and Technology Management; Matthew Fisher, a professor in the Department of Physics; Michael Gurven, a professor in the Department of Anthropology; Mary Hegarty, a distinguished professor in the Department of Psychological & Brain Sciences; and Joel Rothman, a distinguished professor and Wilcox Family Chair in Biotechnology in the Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology.

“On behalf of the Division of Mathematical, Life and Physical Sciences, I congratulate Professors Hegarty, Rothman, Balents, Bowers and Fisher on this prestigious honor,” said Pierre Wiltzius, the Susan and Bruce Worster Dean of Science and a professor of Physics. “All of them have earned accolades through their hard work and original research, and now they are part of this distinguished group of scientists and innovators. These awards recognize highly valued contributions to their respective fields, and I could not be prouder that they are members of our UC Santa Barbara faculty.”